The Carrot at the End of the Stick

That’s how I felt about my blog today. It was the carrot at the end of the stick. I wanted to write in it ALL day, but I knew that I needed to accomplish some “real work” first. I had to slog through the last ten papers of the year, and I did it! It’s amazing to me to feel so overwhelmed by such a small amount of papers. I can fly through them in the winter months, but school is coming to a close, and it’s so warm outside…

After last night’s dinner, I was really in the mood for something sweet (“and healthy!” I told myself). I walked over to Trader Joes to buy some yogurt and planned on cutting up some strawberries and banana. However, when I walked into my uninspiring kitchen, I realized that I didn’t want yogurt and fruit. It was too heavy. I really wanted some chocolate, and that was okay. I’d rather just follow my craving and enjoy what I craved than try to avoid it and end up giving in later and eating six times as much.

I laid out my cocoa next to my very special mug that I got from Oktoberfest 2005. You pay a pfand (deposit) in Germany when you buy a drink, and when you return the glass, you get your deposit back. I was so confused and unable to speak German at that point, I thought the woman was giving me the mug, so I paid my money and walked away with the crowd. It was a lucky mistake though. I’d rather have this mug than a few euro!

In this recipe

1 tsp sugar

1 heaping tablespoon cocoa

1 cup soy milk

Ahhh....

This definitely hit the spot! I missed cow’s milk; I think it gives drinks like this a creamier flavor, but I definitely savored my treat as I half-watched Glee and half-watched Biggest Loser. It was fun for me to see Biggest Loser after making a change in my life. When I watched it before, I was always jealous and frustrated that these obese people had ended up smaller than me… but now I’m right there with them living a healthy lifestyle.

Question: Do you snack at night? I don’t want to get into a habit of eating junk food at night, and I think that we can often snack mindlessly during nighttime tv, but I do crave something sweet at night. Should I give into the craving? Do you have any favorite sncaks?

Good morning, Jillian!

I ran yesterday, so I thought I’d do some weights today. I love Jillian’s workouts, and I thought this was fitting after last night’s Biggest Loser finale. I will definitely be doing a review of Jillian’s workouts soon!

I went down to the kitchen where delicious overnight oats were waiting. I have made vegan overnight oats in the past, and I liked them but didn’t love them. I made Simply Cinnamon Overnight Oats last night when got home. What a way to start the day! I can definitely recommend this recipe. It was creamy, filling, and had the perfect cinnamon taste–not too overpowering, almost like a pie!

The view

Yes, I have the glamorous job of proctoring the library in the morning. Isn’t my view gorgeous?

The topping.

The oats.

The task. Isn’t teaching fun!?

I taught four classes this morning but had luckily prepared a delicous lunch the night before.

Hummus salad. I added a little X-marks-the-spot of tomato paste. I love the flavor of tomato paste!

Veggie burger on a pita with spinach. Unbelievably good!

Berries for dessert.

After such a filling breakfast and lunch, I thought I would be completely satisfied for the rest of the day, but my body had other plans. It was the last day for one of my classes, so we had a little party.

I enjoyed some pretzels. I try to avoid garbage-carbs, but I only had a serving (more than pictured) and I was HUNGRY!

After school I went to Panera to…finish grading! Both shocking activities I know.

Think pink! I filled up my water bottle and enjoyed a strawberry smoothie made with lowfat vanilla yogurt. Delicious!

And, still grading…

Panera is in a perfect location for my afternoon errands. I planned on getting a massage and buying a new suitcase, but I decided to get my eyebrows waxed at the last minute.

Still thinking pink!

I am so bad about easy aspects of my appearance. I rarely do my hair or wear makeup. I have a hard time finding the best or more flattering clothes to wear. But I only have myself to blame because I don’t really give these things much thought. I want to start though. Any tips on baby steps to a better appearance?

Despite filling meals and snacks, I was still famished when dinnertime rolled around. I guess my body knows that I want to run hard tomorrow, and to respond to its wants, I had a fairly carb-y (for me) dinner.

Thanks again, Panera! I promise I cook at home, but it’s such a great place to grade and blog and people watch. I really enjoy looking at what other people are eating. I try to look at healthy people and see what they feed themselves naturally. I think a lot about what I eat in order to pick the most healthy meals, but I think there are many people who listen to their bodies and respond to their bodies’ desires. I find that fascinating. It’s a skill I want to learn. I find it sad to watch superskinny teenage girls pick at lettuce and nibble on the crusts of bread, and I watch in astonishment as very overweight people order the least healthy options on the menu. I know I shouldn’t be shocked because obesity is such a problem in the US, but I just don’t understand how in the age of information people can still make such bad choices. Food habits and cravings are such tough things to overcome, as many of us know.

Delicious vegetable and pesto soup.

A Mediterranean vegetable sandwich with hummus.

And a hunk of bread to get ready for tomorrow’s long run!

Today was a day full of food. Question 2: Do you like hungry-days or do they make you nervous? It can be fun to eat more than usual but also nerve-wracking to stray from our normal habits. Do you let your body or your diet plan dictate what you will eat?

I think I’ll listen to my body… maybe that will mean another sweet treat! (After I pack for my trip!)

About Heather

I'm a literature-loving adventurer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Carrot at the End of the Stick

  1. Lindsay says:

    I’m so glad you liked my overnight oats recipe! That makes me so happy.

    I really like the idea of your blog. I don’t think the scale does anything but make women unhappy and obsessive about our weight. I weigh a bit more now that I would prefer, but I’m trying to be positive about the foods I choose to eat instead of constantly restricting myself and jumping on the scale. Life is too short, ya know?

  2. MA says:

    I try not to snack at night. This was a problem for me at one time though…when I used to lay around at home and watch tv. I’d try not to overeat and just snack on healthy stuff. I also kept stuff out of the apartment that I couldn’t control myself with.

Leave a Reply

