Welcome to…

Idaho!

sadly, I have yet to try their famous potatoes, but I have had some good eats!

The trip was long but fun. I departed from the Wilmington Train Station for BWI on the Acela. It was a smooth and quiet trip and almost as nice as the ICE in Germany. My goal for the afternoon was not to eat until I felt actual hunger, and by the time I arrived at the airport around 5PM I was huuungry. Whenever I am on a healthy eating kick, I try to limit my snacks, which ends up backfiring. So I decided to find something healthy but real to eat. I wanted something that would fill me up and taste okay, and I eventually found a wrap.

That's a wrap!

I enjoyed about 3/4 of this wrap and then meandered around the stores in the airport debating about whether or not to buy myself a treat. I opted not to as I knew I was just tired not hungry. It was the last day of school, and I had gotten up early to run, so I really needed a nap not a treat, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying some chai on my layover in Denver.

Chai with a view!

By the time I arrived in Spokane, WA, I was weirdly wired and hungry, but luckily my friend Ammi is a super-healthy and prepared eater, so she tossed me an apple as we got into the car and made our way to her hometown in Idaho!

My first day here was relaxing, hanging with Ammi and her daughter and touring around Sandpoint, which is such a pretty, quirky place. The internet connection is a little slow here, so I am only going to upload the highlights.

The day began with Ammi’s perfect coffee and a good book. I bought myself this book instead of candy yesterday. I have been trying to turn to “comfort reads” instead of “comfort food,” and though normally that consists of old favorites like Anne of Green Gables, maybe this was a “food treat.” I am really enjoying The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo because it offers a neat perspective on Sweden, and as someone who has lived abroad and gotten to know another country pretty intimately, it’s nice to have a view into a fairly unknown place.

The best part of waking up...

Ammi is a coffee mastermind. I have so many great memories of hanging with her in Germany, drinking coffee blended perfectly with soy milk and honey, and getting ready to go for a run. Unfortunately, she’s got a pretty nasty cold right now, but hopefully we’ll still get in some of our traditional physical activities. We followed up coffee with a cleanse-drink made by her friend Ginna that included grapefruit juice, garlic, and cayenne pepper (and some other secret ingredients), some Fennel, Flax, and Fenugreek tea, and I split a banana with Ammi’s daughter–light and perfect.

We meandered downtown for lunch with Ammi’s mom and business partner. They are midwives, and it was so interesting to hear about their jobs and their take on health. I devoured my steak salad with gorgonzola and raspberry vinaigrette. It was the perfect lunch! I skipped the bread because it just didn’t seem that appetizing to me. If I’m going to have bread, it needs to be perfect.

mmm...delicious!

We snacked on grapes as Ammi prepared a gourmet meal. I have tons of great pictures, but I’ll share my favorite dish. We savored chicken roasted with oranges and rosemary, a yummy Shiraz from nearby Washington, some beets, strawberries, and this unbelievable soup. Recipe coming tomorrow…

If I could only eat one food for the rest of my life, it might be this!

About Heather

I'm a literature-loving adventurer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

