The Spa @ Sandpoint

Even though I am a guest at someone’s house this week, I feel like I am staying in a spa! We have been eating such delicious things that I keep referring to my location as “The Spa at Sandpoint.” Apparently, this town already has a spa, but I can’t imagine that it holds a candle to Ginna’s house.

I almost forgot it was Memorial Day despite my days off because of food has gone way beyond the typical Memorial Day hot dogs and hamburgers.

On Sunday night, we recharged from our 5k adventure with an amazing meal of brown rice with seaweed, baked tofu with soy sauce and sesame seeds, and roasted veggies!

The tofu and veggies are ready for the oven!

The perfect side dish.

I also enjoyed some organic raspberry gel and some more trail mix. It was a fairly munchy day, which would only continue on Monday! I wonder if all this healthy food is driving me to munch more. I think it’s probably the combination of being in someone else’s house and therefore having less control over what I eat and not having a routine. It will be interesting to see how Velocity goes. John has already started it, but I am going to wait until I get home. The first week isn’t too different; we’re just supposed to cut out caloric drinks (not a problem except for my recent coffee spree). After the first week I have to eat a lot of veggies and no fruit 😦 Okay, there are other aspects to the program, but I’m not going to worry about it now.

Monday’s food was amazing.

I got up early. It’s partially still being “set” to East Coast time and partially my personality. I am an early bird which is only reinforced by getting up at the crack of dawn during the school year. It’s difficult for me to sleep in. Boo! Does anyone else have this problem?

I decided to make some coffee. When I took a month off coffee for my cleanse, it wasn’t so much the coffee I missed but the ritual. There’s something special about savoring that perfect cup!

there is nothing like the smell of coffee!

Boiling the water for the french press

The supplies. Yes, I enjoy artificial creamer on vacation!

The finished product. Paired with a book and a slice of vollkornbrot with almond butter!

...and a cuddling cat!

Brunch came later. We enjoyed more coffee (I think I started to get the shakes), a spinach omelette, and mochi with almond butter and blueberries. Mochi is rice pounded to make a dough, and we ate it in these little cakes. It was dense and sweet and delicious!

The perfect "spa" breakfast!

We spent the rest of the day relaxing, and we decided to make Soul Cards. If you’ve ever heard of a dream board, Soul Cards are similar. You flip through magazines and tear out all the pictures that mean something to you. Then, you put them together and interpret them.

I have been thinking a lot lately about some big changes and choices, so it was fun and interesting for me to make Soul Cards and see what they said. I am not going to share all that stuff at the moment, but I probably will some day.

Spa snacks for soul cards and self growth!

My images--before dividing into cards and interpreting.

Dinner was another fantastic affair. Ammi made spaghetti squash, which was something I have been wanting to try anyway, and we paired it with a fantastic raw soup and some wine!

A little recovery after all the soul baring!

An avocado-based raw soup! Recipe coming later (shocking, I know).

Spaghetti squash with meat sauce. I have a feeling this is going to become a regular dish in my house.

Late night munchies...

I am in such a strange mood. I don’t know what it is. Maybe it’s because I’m out of my element. Maybe it’s because I don’t know what my element is. Maybe I just need some space or a huuuuge piece of chocolate cake. I just feel “off.” I am not excited about Velocity; I feel a bit stressed about it. I don’t feel like being supportive of anyone right now. I just kind of want to curl up with a book and a bag of chocolate.

Well, I’m going to enjoy a book and maybe some coffee and try to sit with these feelings and flesh them out. Maybe vacations aren’t the time to think deep thoughts. Maybe my soul is just a little tired after yesterday…

About Heather

I'm a literature-loving adventurer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Spa @ Sandpoint

  1. Francesca says:

    It sounds like your mood changed as you wrote this blog. You started out in spa-happy land and ended up in a soul-searching, confusing place. I think it’s cool that you’re starting out on new adventures, both of the body and mind. I think it’s admirable that you’re holding yourself to a whole bunch of different standards, and I think it’s totally understandable why you could hit slumps or become exhausted or confused. If you didn’t, I’d think you’re a robot. I guess just continue listening to your body without indulging or embracing negative emotions or habits. If you want to curl up in the corner, have some chocolate covered raisins or something and don’t feel guilty, but don’t overdo it. If you want to be alone, be alone for a little bit, but don’t become a bitter recluse. It’s all about finding balance in life, and it’s inevitable that in the finding of that balance the scales are going to tip drastically back and forth for a while. Go along for the whole ride! I’ve loved reading your blog, (even if as an Italian I’m offended by the concept of spaghetti squash) and I know you’re going to figure everything out.

Leave a Reply

