It only takes a day!

I woke up on Monday feeling, unsurprisingly, like crap. Eating dairy right before bed left my mouth feeling coated. My stomach felt woozy. I did not feel like a healthy eater at all. I wondered where that healthy young woman had disappeared to as I scrutinized my swollen stomach in the mirror. I had to do a bunch of errands, which included driving down to Dover (about an hour away) to get stuff taken care of for my visa application to live in Korea. After printing out some paperwork and grabbing some files, I wanted to get right on the road. Again, my lack of shopping was affecting my meal plans (hmmm Heather, lesson learned?). I decided to just pop back in to the Dunkin Donuts and grab something for the road. As I was pulling my car up to the traffic light near school, I realized I had a choice.

1. I could turn left for DD. I was already feeling pretty icky, so who cared about another icky meal. It wouldn’t hurt anyone, and bagels are delicious.

2. I could turn right and dash into the local grocery store. Maybe I could pick up a piece of fruit or something. But would it matter? I already felt like garbage.

Then, I remembered the tag line from another Heather’s blog: “Make one healthy decision. Then make another.”

I turned right!

It might not be the most healthy breakfast, but it was a start!

I spent the morning getting my criminal records. Going to the police station to get criminal records is a lot like going to the DMV–there are all types of people around. It’s also worse. Some of the people there weren’t getting their records checked, they were reregistering. People have to live their lives, and though I find that particular behavior despicable, it was especially awkward listening to one guy scream about how he should never have been convicted in the first place. Get me outta there!!

I spent about two hours there getting my records together. Normally it takes a few weeks, but they said if I waited around they could expedite my stuff. Thanks criminal records people! I would not want that job. Before I could get the Apostille (an official seal from the Secretary of State of Delaware) for my criminal record (You have to jump through some hoops to live in Korea!), I had to get it notarized. Not a problem except the woman on the phone at the State Department told me I had to be there by 2PM to get my apostille on the same day, and it was already 1:15. I drove around looking for a bank, stopping in a grocery store to ask for directions and someone directed me over toward the government buildings. If there was a bank there, I figured that would be a good spot. I could just dash over to the Corporations section after for an Apostille.

And dash I did. I parked my car and ran–in my non-supportive flip-flops–to the bank. Unfortunately, they only notarize stuff for their customers. No exceptions. Fantastic. They sent me over to the courts, but I couldn’t find the entrance and dashed into the Delaware Archives Library instead.

The guy at the front desk at the library was awesome. He couldn’t leave the desk unattended, so he was going to send me into the archives to ask for help, but seeing that I would have to fill out some paperwork to gain admittance, I asked if he could just make a phone call. He called around to find the notary, but she wasn’t at her desk. He left a message, and we both pondered how long I should wait if I had to get my apostille by 2pm.

The clocked ticked by for 5 minutes and the notary walked through the door! She took me up to her office, notarized my record, and sent me on my way. I live a charmed life.

It’s 1:40 and I dash again to the correct office, unknowingly running right past it and being directed to reverse my steps when I stop and ask for help.

At 1:47, I burst into the corporations office, and the woman there is no nice. Apparently, I didn’t actually have to be there at 2pm because I am getting an Apostille for personal reasons not for a corporation, but oh well. It made my day exciting.

I had a few hours to walk around Dover, and I decided to go down to the local German bakery. I was so excited to get some German bread. I had my camera pulled out and ready to snap pictures as I approached, but it was closed. 😦 I didn’t even take any pics–too sad. Silly Germans and their work/life balance and their days off.

Instead, I went to yet another grocery store for the salad bar!

Salad Bar Treat!

I enjoyed the salad with a tall soy latte from Starbucks. Mmmm…

In my meanderings, I also came into contact with some Delaware history. Dover was actually really cute. I’m so glad to discover it just as I’m leaving!

Where delegates decided to ratify the Constitution--making Delaware the first state!!

After a nice stroll and lunch, I got the call that my apostille was ready! Success!

Success! So official!

I decided to be sensible and use the bathroom before the drive home, and look who was lurking…

No thanks, buddy.

After a nice drive home, I enjoyed some unpictured-cause-they’re-boring fruit and cheese. Then I went for a nice 45 minute run that ended at (you guessed it!) the grocery store!

I needed some basic supplies and some pasta sauce from dinner.

I made an awesome dinner. I prepared gluten-free rice pasta (sounds wrong, but it’s pretty good) and ground turkey and zucchini sauce. I put my beautiful creation on a huge pile of spinach and garnished around and on top of it.

The presentation makes the meal.

The spinach and peppers mixed nicely with the pasta and gave me some delicious raw veggie power. Piling your entree on top of spinach is a sneaky and delicious way to integrate more greens.

Delicious!

I loved my dinner, and after debating with myself about night snacking, I finished with a treat. I presented it beautifully and I enjoyed it.

Delicious Chocolate oat cake and 1/2 banana

I learned something important today. It only takes a day. We can go off track and feel awful and sluggish, but we need to give ourselves that day to get back on track. We cannot let perfect be the enemy of good. More on that later! Have a great day!

About Heather

I'm a literature-loving adventurer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

